A refurbishment — My mountains

There will be a refurbishment of this blog. Although still “my” blog, I will periodically upload some of the mountain pictures I take. In the caption, I will briefly describe the picture, the place I took the image and some of the feelings (pain, happiness, effort, proud, etc) that I had during the hiking and at the summit… I sincerely hope that you will enjoy them as much as I did (and of course, with much less effort 🙂 )

Matterhorn from Zermatt

Matterhorn from Zermatt

That morning (I should say, “that night”) we woke up at 6 am in order to get the first cable car to the Klein Matterhorn. The temperature in Zermatt was really low, but nothing compared with what we lived at the summit of the Klein Matterhorn and during our walk to the Breithorn (the easiest 4000 m mountain to reach in the Swiss Alps). The temperature was -18ºC, with wind gusts such that the temperature fell below -40ºC… Regardless these extreme conditions, the views were worthy to suffer a bit. Our hiking to the Breithorn was not possible as we were not fully equipped… we only walked along safe paths on the glacier.

~ by polluxcastor on February 15, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
